Getting fit with a FitBit Flex!

FitBit Flex

If you haven’t heard of the FitBit Flex, it’s basically a technological wonder of awesomeness; and yes, that’s the most accurate way to describe it. It’s a neat little tracker worn on the wrist that tracks your steps, much like a pedometer, but it’s also so much more. Depending on your fitness goals, you can track not only steps, but also mileage, exercise routines, dietary needs, and most awesomely your sleeping habits.

I’ve had the Flex for over a year now and I can honestly say it’s changed the way I’ve look at fitness. Check the instagram video below to see it in action. It’s extremely comfortable and like the name suggests it’s flexible. With just two simple taps to the band, you can instantly see your progress (indicated by the blinking dots). By frequently tapping the Flex you’ll activate sleep mode, but I’ll be getting to that in a bit. While the device is hidden in the band, it’s fairly water-proof, I wore mine to the Warrior Dash last year and we both managed to survive. Go ahead and check it out!

FitBit Flex Colors

The band is available in a variety of colors/sizes to suit anyone’s needs; from the weekend warrior to the office champion. And now that you know what it is, I’d like to cover just what it does and how much it’s changed my entire outlook on getting and staying fit. Even if you’re not sure what your goals should be, the FitBit Flex covers all your goals across the board.

FitBit Flex Fitness Goals

Let’s Get Active!
For me the hardest part of trying to get into shape was keeping track of my progress; namely my calorie needs, checking my weight (fat vs lean muscle vs water), and even my sleep patterns! I had never really put two and two together, but sleep is an incredibly important part of getting fit! So I began by looking for a way to keep track of everything all in one place; something simple, and easy enough to follow: insert Flex.

Once you purchase the Flex you immediately get access to an online dashboard on the FitBit website that tracks EVERYTHING. And how does this all work, you say? The FitBit connects to your computer or your mobile device and automatically pushes information to the dashboard. Awesome, right? Every little step, hop, skip, and jump is recorded to the Flex and once it’s within range of your mobile device or computer it syncs and voila you can see your daily steps, mileage, and if you’re close to achieving your goals (which are completely custom to your needs.) You can set Step/Mileage goals, Calorie Goals, and Weight Goals.

Learn to Eat Better!
While the Flex is recording your steps and activity levels, you can also use the online/mobile app to track your calorie intake. You can use FitBit’s suggestions for weight loss/gain and select an appropriate meal/calorie plan or you can simply input your own if you wish. Either way, it’s perfect for beginners or pros. It’s a pretty nifty food log, where you can create custom foods/meals that make adding up your daily calories a snap, while your Flex adds up your expended calories, which all adds up to your total daily expenditure. The best part? You get a weekly review email which shows you a whole week’s worth of food, activity, weight gain/loss, and sleep.

Manage Your Weight!
The Flex is incredibly accurate at adjusting your meal plans to meet your new dietary needs as you lose weight. With every new milestone of weightloss, the program adapts your calorie needs making it easier to stay on track with your overall goals. The online dashboard features a nifty “Calories In vs Calories Out” meter, which shows how close you are to staying within your Calorie Intake vs Expenditure ratio. I cannot even tell you how much this little feature has changed my outlook on watching what I eat. It features an under zone, and over zone (too many calories eaten) and a green “perfect” zone to let you know you are exactly where you need to be.

With the online dashboard, you can either track your weight manually using a home scale/or doctor’s visits to track progress; or if you’re like me (a total health freak) then you can get the Aria scale, which is a WiFi, bio-metric scale that sends electrical impulses through your feet to calculate fat/lean muscle/and water weight. I freaking love this scale, to put it mildly. Using your home WiFi it automatically syncs to your computer and/or mobile phone to update your online dashboard. I do this every week, in the morning to keep things consistent. But you can always keep track the old-fashioned way.

Sleep Better!
You might not realize that sleep is ridiculously vital to your overall health, or you might, but you can just never quite find a way to get enough of it. The latter use to be the case for me until I realized how much of a difference keeping a constant biorhythm can have on your physical and mental health. The Flex has a nifty sleep mode that allows to not only track your sleeping habits; such as how long you slept, what time you went to bed, how many times did you toss/turn or wakeup during the night….but it also wakes you up in the morning by vibrating with its “silent alarm” setting. I can honestly tell you, the more I started to look at how I was sleeping, the more I knew how to correct my bad sleep habits. For my first two weeks of having the Flex, I went to bed at the same time every night and woke up at the same time every night (yes, even the weekends) and I started getting into a biorhythm: which is a fancy way of saying a wake/sleep cycle. My sleep became more restful and when I would wake up just a few minutes before my alarm even went off, I was up and ready without feeling groggy or needing more sleep.

Here’s a screenshot of my dashboard so you can get a feel of how it’s visually laid out:

FitBit Dashboard

The online dashboard is extremely customizable, you can shift tiles around, remove/add tiles; basically, whatever is most important to you can easily be where you want it be displayed. As you can see, I’m pretty well within my goals! Woohoo! These tiles are constantly changing throughout the day and by the time you go to bed, you’ll be ready to start everything all over again and become one “step” closer to reaching your goals.

All in all, I was pretty impressed with my tech/fitness toy when I first got it and I still am! It’s endured many a challenges, even survived the washing machine more than a few times and it’s still going strong, just like me!

Well, I hope I covered things well enough, but if you have any questions or comments, please feel free ask! I’d love to hear what you think!

Leave a Reply

