What are you running in 2013?

Earlier this year, I set the goal to run at least two 5Ks in 2013, and I’m so pumped, that I’ve decided to add one more for a total of three races this year! So here’s my starting lineup:

Run For Your Lives - Zombie 5KRun For Your Lives – Zombie 5K, Pittsburgh, PA (August 3rd)

Nothing says “run, dude, run” better than being chased some flesh-hungry zombies! After  all, rule #1 is Cardio! [/Zombieland] This is my second year in a row running the obstacle course and I am more than stoked, because I’ll also be volunteering as a zombie!

Last year I so close to the finish line with one flag, I was so sure I was going to survive! But I biffed it into a giant mud puddle and was “eaten alive” sadly. Also had a personal best race finish with 01:18:21 which really wasn’t that bad considering you have to wait for others to pass through obstacles.

This year I’m aiming for completion with at least one flag! Wish me luck!

Warrior Dash 5KWarrior Dash – Obstacle 5K, Long Pond, PA (August 24th)

This year will also be my very first Warrior Dash! Assuming I survive the zombie apocalypse without too many bumps and bruises, I’ll be ready again for this beast of an obstacle course. I can already tell this is going to be intense after watching just a few of the videos on their site.

I’m pumped! I’ve been strength training and cardio training, so let’s rock this! I’m not worried about completion time, but rather just completing in general! If you’ve done this before, any tips or advice?

Color Run 5KThe Color Run – Fun Run 5K, Pittsburgh, PA (October 2nd)

After I’ve brutally beaten myself down into the mud, why not add a splash of color? This is the first time the Color Run as been in my area and I’m more than excited! This one I’m going for a leisurely jog, no need to compete for time or completion, just some healthy fun.

So this rounds up my year of 5K’s, and I couldn’t be more excited! I’m still a newbie runner, so if you have any advice or tips on how to survive the more brutal courses, please feel free to share in the comments! Also, wish me luck….I’m going to need it!

One response to “What are you running in 2013?

  1. I’m new to running as well (at least, within the past year). The hubs and I started running together around the start of our marriage – 2 to 3 milers were the typical day’s runs. However, within the past month (or so?) I found a training schedule for a 1/2 marathon on fitsugar.com – SUPER great resource. I have yet to sign up for a 1/2 marathon, but the training has been a really great help in learning how to add distance while avoiding injuries. Good luck on your 5Ks.

Leave a Reply

